Sponsors and supporters


This year, for the seventh Write to End Violence Against Women Awards we would like to thank our sponsoring organisations the University of Strathclyde, the National Union of Journalists – Scotland, and The National Union of Journalists - Glasgow Branch.

The National Union of Journalists – Scotland sponsored the Best Piece - News category and The National Union of Journalists - Glasgow Branch sponsored the Best Piece - Feature category.

“The National Union of Journalists is the voice for journalism and for journalists across the UK and Ireland working at home and abroad in all sectors of the media as freelances, casuals and staff in newspapers, news agencies, broadcasting, magazines, online, book publishing, in public relations, communications, and as photographers

Find out more about the NUJ – Scotland on the website. Follow them on Twitter here.

The University of Strathclyde will be sponsoring the Best Piece - Blog and Self-Published category.

The School of Humanities at the University of Strathclyde is delighted to sponsor this award for the third year in a row. In our Masters programmes in Applied Gender Studies, Media and Communication, and Digital Journalism, we are centrally concerned with questions about gender, violence, representation and journalistic ethics and we are delighted to support this award which recognises and rewards good practice in student journalism."

Find out more about the University of Strathclyde on the website. Follow on Twitter and like on Facebook.



We are also pleased to announce the Daily Record will be working with us as our media partner.

The Write to End Violence Against Women Awards are organised by Zero Tolerance and supported by Amina: The Muslim Women’s Resource Centre, Edinburgh Hollaback, Edinburgh Student Arts Festival, Engender, Everyday Victim Blaming, Fife College, International Women’s Day Edinburgh, Rape Crisis Scotland, Shakti Women’s Aid, The Empower Project, University of West Scotland, and White Ribbon Scotland.

Our steering group members are:

Alys Mumford - Engender

Anila Mirza - Shakti Women’s Aid

Briana Pegado - Edinburgh Student Arts Festival

Davy Thompson - White Ribbon Scotland

Eileen Maitland - Rape Crisis Scotland

Ghizala Avan - Amina: The Muslim Women’s Resource Centre

Jenny Lester - Zero Tolerance

Jo Zawadzka - Zero Tolerance

Louise Pennington - Everyday Victim Blaming

Margaret Hughes - University of West Scotland

Marie Penman - Fife College

Maxine Blane - Engender

Noelia Martinez Castellanos - International Women’s Day Edinburgh

Rahnuma Hassan - The Empower Project/Edinburgh Hollaback

Tomiwa Folorunso - Media creator


If you are interested in sponsoring a category or becoming a supporter, please get in touch with

ZT logo