Judges: 2019

Nick McGowan-Lowe

Nick is an organiser for the National Union of Journalists Scotland and was part of the consultation in creating the Media Guidelines on Violence Against Women.

Peter Swindon

Peter is an award-winning journalist working at the Sunday Post. He won the 2018 Write to End Violence Against Women Award in the News Reporting category.

Fiona Davidson

Fiona is the Director of the Ferret, a Media Law Tutor at Strathclyde University, and the joint secretary of the National Union of Journalists Glasgow Branch.

Gina Davidson

Gina is journalist at the The Scotsman and she was the winner of the Write to End Violence Against Women Awards 2015 in the Political Reporting Category.

Lesley Riddoch

Lesley is an awarding winning broadcaster and journalist who writes regularly for the Scotsman and Guardian. She was the co-founder of Harpies and Quines.

Fiona MacKenzie

Fiona is the head of We Can’t Consent to This – a campaign group formed in response to the increasing numbers of women and girls killed and injured in violence that is claimed to be consensual. They count the number of women this happens to, put pressure on MPs to take action, and raise awareness of this issue.

Jenny Constable

Jenny is a writer and activist. She was the Write to End Violence Against Women Awards Bursary Winner 2018/2019.

Lesley McMillan

Lesley is a professor at Glasgow Caledonian University. Together with Deborah White, she won the Write to End Violence Against Women Awards 2018 in the Best Blog category.

Andrew Jenkin

Andrew is a PhD student at the University of Strathclyde researching gender, media and women’s football and is the head of Club Development Scotland.

Maureen McGonigle

Maureen is the founder of Scottish Women in Sport, the chair of Scottish Sports Futures, and a columnist for The National.

ZT logo