News and events

Write to End Violence Against Women Awards

Christina McKevlie MSP stands smiling with the three winners. The winners are all holding their trophies.

A huge thank you to all of you who attended the 2018 Write to End Violence Against Women Awards this week. We were thrilled to see such a packed event with so many people passionate about good media representation about violence against women.

Our compère Jude Henderson did a fantastic job of coordinating the ceremony and keeping things running smoothly.

We would like to give thanks to our wonderful MSP and speaker Christina McKelvie MSP, Minister for Older People and Equalities; it is wonderful to have MSPs who are actively and vocally challenging the narrative that says violence against women is ever acceptable. Huge thanks as well to our wonderful panel of judges and of course all the writers who entered this year’s competition.

Zero Tolerance is supported in the running of the Write Awards by White Ribbon Scotland, Scottish Women’s Aid, Engender, Everyday Victim Blaming, Rape Crisis Scotland, Forth Valley Rape Crisis, and media partner, The Daily Record newspaper.

We are grateful to our 2018 sponsors, NUJ Scotland, NUJ Glasgow Branch, The Young Women’s Movement, and the University of Strathclyde.

Winner of Best Article – News Reporting, Sponsored by the Daily Record

Peter Swindon, The Herald

Students fear ‘academic consequences’ if they report sex attacks on campus

Peter Swindon holds a trophy smiling, standing next to Anna Burnside, also smiling

Winner of Best Article – News Features, Sponsored by NUJ Scotland and NUJ Glasgow Branch

Dani Garavelli, The Scotsman

Insight: The Edinburgh clinic helping sex workers stay safe

Sadly, Dani could not join us on the night but we will be getting her trophy to her soon!


Winner of Best Blog or Comment, Sponsored by the University of Strathclyde

Lesley McMillan & Deborah White, Gender Politics at Edinburgh

Technologising Rape and Sexual Assault: Can we really innovate the problem away?

Lesley McMillan holds a trophy smiling, standing next to Karen Boyle, also smiling


Winner of Year of Young People Award, Sponsored by the Young Women’s Movement

Rosie Hilton, The Student Newspaper

The everyday resistance of surviving sexual violence

Rosie Hilton holds a trophy smiling, standing next to Patrycja Kupiec, also smiling

ZT logo